Utility Safety Awards

The USOLN recognizes individuals each year that have made significant contributions to the utility industry as leaders working toward a safe and productive work environment in their jobs and as volunteers to the Utility Safety & Ops Leadership Network.

Utility Safety Award Winners

Utility Safety Awards

Co-Sponsored by Incident Prevention

Carolyn Alkire Safety Advocate Award

Carolyn Alkire Safety Advocate Award

Award Honors Those in the Utility Industry with a Passion for Safety

The Carolyn Alkire Safety Advocate Award was created to honor Carolyn Alkire, a 40-year employee of San Diego Gas & Electric and a partner in safety to the U.S. electric utility industry. Alkire passed away on July 11, 2008. She was active in a variety of industry groups including iP safety conferences, the Inter-Utility Overhead Training Association (IUOTA), Western Underground and the Institute for Safety in Powerline Construction.

USOLN Membership

John McRae Safety Leadership Award

Award Honors Those in the Utility Industry Who Best Display Strong Leadership in the Field

The John McRae Safety Leadership Award was created to honor John McRae, a fourth-generation lineman who enjoyed an inspiring 42-year career before passing away on July 27, 2010. He was active in the military reserves for nearly 30 years and instrumental in establishing the Massachusetts Municipal Lineman’s Association. McRae, a member of San Diego’s IBEW Local 465, spoke across the country about electrical training and went on to assist in the launch of Incident Prevention magazine, a highly respected industry resource for utility safety and operations professionals.

Utility Safety Award Nominations


360 Memorial Drive
Suite 10, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
Phone: 815.459.1796

Magazines / e-News

— Provided by Utility Business Media —
Subscribe to our magazines and email list and stay up-to-date with all the latest news about utility industry products, educational opportunities, and other utility specific information.

© 2009 - Utility Safety & Ops Leadership Network All rights reserved.